Berkeley Collegium Grant Program: Narrowing the Gap Between Teaching and Research

This grant program was established in 2015 to foster projects aimed at narrowing the gap between teaching and research at Berkeley. Detailed information about the aims of this program, and information about the spring 2018 application process can be found here. Previous grant recipients are:

2018: Fourth Cohort
  • Sabrina Agarwal (Anthropology), “The UCB Anthropology Undergraduate Bioarchaeology Research Experience”
  • John Arnold, Anne Baranger, and Teresa Head-Gordon (Chemistry),  “Expanding Research Opportunities for Chemistry Undergraduates: Computational Chemistry for Transfer Students (CC-TS)”
  • Irene Bloemraad (Sociology), “Mapping Spatial Inequality – Immigrants in Poverty and Community Services”
  • Carl Boettiger (Environmental Science, Policy, and Management), “Conducting Research at the Frontier of Global Change & Data Science”
  • Iryna Dronova (Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning), “Empowering urban design innovation using cutting-edge environmental science tools”
2017: Third Cohort
  • Deborah McKoy (Graduate School of Education, City and Regional Planning, Institute of Urban and Regional Development), “Y-PLAN ( Youth – Plan, Learn, Act, Now) – Undergraduate Action Research Initiative”
  • Céline Pallud and Sarick Matzen (Environmental Science, Policy, and Management),  “Sustainable soils research incubator”
  • Lisa C. Pieraccini (Classics), “Exploring the Etruscans at UC Berkeley”
2016: Second Cohort
  • Abigail DeKosnik (Berkeley Center for New Media and Department of Theater, Dance & Performance Studies), “Making sense of cultural data”
  • Alexa Koenig (Human Rights Center, UC Berkeley School of Law), “Human rights investigations and technology: an open source intelligence lab for undergraduate researchers”
  • Terry Johnson (BioEngineering), “Expansion of BioEngineering Guaranteed Research Opportunities (BEGROw) program”
  • Martha Olney and Joseph Farrell (Economics), “Creating and Mentoring a Community of Undergraduate Student Researchers in Economics”
2015: First Cohort
  • Nicholas Swanson-Hysell (Department of Earth and Planetary Science), “Intellectual discovery through field-based research projects in Death Valley”
  • Robert Rhew (Department of Geography), “GC-maker: Building your own analyzer for environmental research”
  • Patricia Steenland (College Writing Programs), “UC Berkeley-Owens Valley Paiute project: Restoring a lost cultural heritage”
  • Oscar Dubon (College of Engineering), “PREP-IP: Research experiences for work study engineering students in their first year at Berkeley”

Berkeley Collegium Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education

This award was established in 2014 to recognize an existing program, initiative, or unit that we believe has exceptional promise or a track record of success in promoting undergraduate education at Cal.  The award is intended to recognize the aims or accomplishments of the program, initiative, or unit, as well as to provide funding for continuing or expanding its efforts.  Previous recipients of this award are:

2018   UC Berkeley Food Pantry
2017   American Cultures Engaged Scholarship (ACES) Program
            Data Science Education Program (DSEP)
2016   CE3
2015    Academic Achievement Programs (AAP)
             Office of Undergraduate Research and Scholarships (OURS)
2014    Student Learning Center (SLC)